Dad's lemons

Yep, I travel from one end of the country to the other with lemons stuffed in my bag. They're very good lemons

=================================

Mum's Lemon Honey

4 large lemons
125gm butter
2 cups sugar
4 beaten eggs

Grate the zest from the lemons and place in a bowl or double boiler. Juice the lemons and add to the rind along with the butter and sugar.

Place the bowl over a pot of hot/simmering water. Stir while heating until the butter has melted and sugar has dissolved.

Add beaten egg and stir over the heat until it starts to thicken.

Remove from heat and pour into clean sterilised jars.

Store in the fridge and serve on toast or scones.

Also very good with the tartness of plain natural unsweetened yogurt.

======================================

There, you'd hardly guess it was an emergency blip ;-)

I went around to home after work to meet the woman who is measuring up for replacement curtains. I have no idea what's happened to the roof report but the rest of the house is progressing.

Downstairs the first coat of the actual colours was underway in the lounge and dining room. Upstairs my bedroom was being prepped for pre-paint papering tomorrow. No work from the Brazilian boys in the morning, they'll be watching the World Cup. That's fine by me, I know they put the hours in around the football.

I had the sudden realisation I will shift back into a fixed home and it will look fresh and good :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.