Great Grandfather's house

I'm standing on top of the hill looking down at the "Big House" built by Steven's great grandfather in the 1880's (with the help of carpenters). Steven's grandmother, Evelyn Staley was born here. She married Edward A. Deming around 1910 and the rest as they say, is history!

Behind where I'm standing are two other family cottages that you can't see in this photograph. Looking down the hill you can see two barns called the drive shed, where carriages and wagons used to be kept. Steven also tells me there was a Blacksmith shop there! Beyond the drive shed is the cottage where we stay, built by Edward G. Deming, Steven's dad in 1970. I posted a photo about a week ago of this cottage. The tiger lilies you see are all over the property and they have probably been here since the 1920's.

A beautiful piece of land, history and family on an island, Wolfe Island . . . with the gorgeous, wide, and variable ST Lawrence river flowing by. It has been lovely to be here. We have 2 more days here -wow, and then we begin our 3 day journey back home. One thing - I will be glad to get back to my normal internet connection! While here Iv'e only had my smart phone to upload photos with and the roaming data charges have been too expensive to spend any other time online. Oh well!! Thanks for understanding ♡ : 0 ) ♡ ☆

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.