Mags' Moments

By MagsMoments

Hey, baby!

I have been photographing (or trying to photograph) this foal for a wee while now.

Mum is very protective and she normally has him half-hidden in the shady bushes both to protect him from prying eyes (like mine!) and to shelter him from the hot sun. But as he gets older he's getting braver and bolder (and both he and his mother are probably getting more used to me too). Youthful curiosity is winning out and he now generally comes over to say hello and to check out what I'm doing when I appear pointing this strange black thing at him.

I tend to greet him with a "Hey, baby!" and he now responds when he hears this and Mum pretty much ignores me (but she always makes sure she can still see me out of the corner of her eye...). Most times, Baby'll come over and accept a pat or two, but he's still quite skittish and the slightest thing spooks him, but that's no bad thing – nothing wrong with being wary and safe.

I liked the contrast in this shot between the sheen of his young coat and bright eyes and the old, gnarled and twisted wood behind him. Baby’s no thoroughbred, but I still think he’s cute!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.