On the lake

We went up north to the state park where my son and grandson were having a father/son camping trip. We took a little boat out on the lake which was beautiful and my husband, son and grandson did some fishing while I took pictures and enjoyed the breeze coming across the lake.
At one point we found a sandbar where the bottom was very shallow and everyone got out of the boat to get wet. I decided I would get out of the boat too and asked my husband to help me out. Well, lets just say that short legs are challenging and I ended up falling in the lake with a splash. My grandson starting laughing so hard. His laugh make me laugh as I sat there with my butt on the lakes sandy bottom. I'm just glad nobody had a camera.
We stayed on the campsite for dinner and made shish kebabs on the campfire. They were really good. We enjoyed spending time with them and they were all set up for the night with an air mattress and sleeping bags so we left them to enjoy the rest of their weekend. It was a beautiful night and it had cooled off a lot. I envied them spending the night. We used to take our kids camping all the time and the part I loved the best was waking up in the morning all snug in my sleeping bag after having spent the night sleeping our in the fresh air. It's nice to see that the times we had must have been good when the kids were young since my son now takes his son.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.