Cabbagetree

By cabbagetree

Fallen Daisies

This morning I awoke to brilliant sunshine. It was dazzling after a couple of weeks of overcast skies and two days of rain. I did my first tour of the garden in several days. What a mess. Weeds have sprung to life everywhere, the grass is rampant, flowers are soggy and ruined, and fruit on the trees is splitting. There are all sorts of fungi appearing and, surprisingly, mosses.

My rain gauge showed that we had 60mm of rain in those two days. This is phenomenal. At this time of year anything over 5mm is remarkable.

Of course the sunshine didn't last. By 9am the clouds had returned. But we were lucky. Only about 5 or 6 kilometers out on the Plains I could see a fluffy beige covering of fog.

The rain started again when my washing was half dry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.