Summer at the cemetery

These flowers were the most summery aspect at the old Addington Cemetery this afternoon. A symbolic shot from me, colour and greyness,

I went with a small group loosely formed after a lensbaby course last year. We nearly froze (well I did). But it only lightly drizzled and blew (this is an improvement).

Sadly vandals have smashed some of the head stones through the years. Wild roses, lavender and other flowers grow in abundance. The greyness only added to the sad feel. So many gravestones forgotten and neglected, with only a few showing signs of care.

Today I met the latest tenants in the old house next door. There have been some bogens there and it's easy to be jaundiced and judgmental. They talked of cleaning, painting and making it their home. Quite humbling really. I have no idea what they have experienced in life, but I'm guessing it has been different to me.

I'm reminded of an old Chinese saying I was told many years ago; "At the end of the game, The king and the pawn go back in the same box".

And on that deep note I shall go and forage in the kitchen ;-)

One more big sleep until week long photography course and the forecast is for fine weather - yay!

Edit: I don't normally from terminal indecision but I've changed the image back to the original one. It kept sticking in my mind so I'm listening to my internal hpx mechanism (and exercising a woman's right to change her mind;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.