Hedychrum nobile

or is it Hedychrum niemelai Linsenmaier. Anyway it took me quite a long time to find out that the insect is a wasp (Juweelwesp in dutch language) and a parasite (cucko wasp). She just sat on the bush with the yellow flowers (Solidago canadensis) near the buddleia and I was amazed to see her multi coloured dress.
Not very easy to take some pictures of her because she seemed so utterly hungry, she ran from one side to the other, but somewhere she stopped fair enough.
She is little but compared with the other dull dressed insects that did eat beside her one can not fail to notice her.
In the morning Piet Hein and I finished the first (most difficult part) clearing of the garage and I felt rather exhausted.
Only after my nap at lunchtime we set for for a walk along the Weser, a nice walk that did us both good.

My haiku:

If you visit me
I'll am glad to hold you firm
In my lens for later

And the proverb:

The sharper the storm, the sooner it's over.

9 June 1872 in Kilvert's Diary.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.