LovestoRoam

By MelanieMay

"Lost a few pounds and my whips for ya"

Way back in October I damaged my back, again, and I ended up on morphine, as well as a shed load of other pills and potions, and it put me out of action for six months, by which I mean I could barely walk without being in agony so all activity had to seise. As a result being stuck at home most days and being bored I started to eat, and when you eat and don't exercise you start to put on weight. I pilled the pounds back on. Since about March my back has been getting better and I started back in the gym. I started looking after my diet and I got myself a personal trainer. I've lost a few kg. A few. I have been doing every thing right but the weight won't budge. I now fear that I have done some metabolic damage after years of dieting, and from my stressful heavily medicated six months of pain. So today I decided that as of tomorrow I will put 100% effort into getting fit and healthy and losing the 1.5 stone yup, you read that right, 9.5kg that I have put on since last October. First thing though I am going to my doctor to get all checked out to make sure it is not my 'big bones' or some other thing that might be causing my metabolism to slow down, apart from my age. Once I get the all clear I can then focus on my diet and exercise, hence the photo, this is my prep for the week ahead, weighing everything out, making homemade bread and counting calories. The weight gain has made me really self-conscious and miserable and that is why there are no new photos of me on Facebook since last year! I am in hiding, that's also the reason why I avoid all social occasions so for every birthday, going away, girls night out that I have made an excuse for, I am sorry, the truth of the matter is I really do have nothing to wear as I can no longer fit into my skinny girl clothes, but I am hoping to be back on track within the next few months. I'm writing about this so I can hold myself accountable and hopefully get lots of tips and running buddies from all my friends out there. Phew, that took a lot for me to write that, I wish I could drown these pesky emotions in chocolate but I won't. I'll have some grapefruit instead, what joy!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.