Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Airbus to Farnborough

My first day back at work coincided with the first day of the Farnborough Air Show. Although the office is virtually next to the airport, we can't see much, but do get glimpses of the afternoon air display from the car park and green opposite. It can also get rather noisy once the jets get going, and buildings start shaking and car alarms trigger!

Today's display was due to start with a fly pass of the Red Arrows, so I headed outside to eat my lunch and see if I could blip them. However, no luck, but next up was the A380 Airbus. This is currently the world's largest passenger airliner and requires a somewhat larger air space to operate in, so getting a shot was reasonably on the cards.

I rather liked this one as it shows how agile such a big plane can be - and believe me it is big! I was fortunate to be at the Air Show in 2006 for its first flight here when it took part in a fly pass with the Red Arrows, which looked like gnats next to it. Once landed, it easily dwarfed the surrounding planes and hangers.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.