Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

Home on the Range

A few weeks ago I wandered up the road after dinner for a Blip. Venturing onto the path round the perimeter of the Pirbright army range I spotted a handsome stag feeding in the undergrowth behind a 6 foot high barbed wire fence and well beyond the reach of my 10-20mm wide-angled lens :(

So tonight I repeated the exercise, but this time with my 70-300mm lens fitted. At first I thought I was out of luck, but suddenly spotted a pair of antlers poking above some bushes. Moving into a better position, I saw there were around half a dozen stags sitting around, and I managed some reasonable shots.

However, strolling along a bit further I got this clear shot of what looks like a young doe

The techie bit: I used a very shallow depth of field to throw the fence out of focus in some photos. However for this shot I held the camera above my head, resting on the fence, and used Live View to focus - I just love my articulated screen!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.