Harbour

I was down near the the harbour in search of the dolphin hiding in the Maritime Museum. The centrepiece of the museum is a huge model of the Murchison Platform. In late 2013 a contract was awarded for the decommissioning of the platform after 30 years in production. Still the platform is immortalised in the museum.

On my way to the Maritime Museum I paused to take a couple of photographs of the buildings next to the harbour. As this is still a working port it is not surrounded yet by luxury flats. No doubt that phase in the life of the harbour lies in the future, though some way off.

The building on the left is a warehouse belonging to the Shore Porters Society. This company was established in 1498, which must make it one of the oldest companies in Scotland. Maybe the warehouse will become flats at some point.

It must have been graduation day at one of Aberdeen's universities, I saw lots of gowns in town and people dressed as they would only dress for either a graduation or a wedding. Luckily although it has been cloudy at times there has been no rain. And yes I have added another dolphin to my collection!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.