Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Tired and hot little athlete!

Today I have a boy who is too big for nursery. He didn't seem phased by it at all until bedtime, when he suddenly realised he wasn't going back tomorrow and sobbed his heart out because he will "never see Mrs. H again!" Bless him.

He has loved nursery and is certainly ready for school. Unfortunately his close friends at nursery are all going to St. Andrew's whilst he is heading to William Ransom. He knows plenty of children he will be at school with, but they just aren't his besties, so we will have to work at maintaining those friendships.

Carys, meanwhile, spent the afternoon at Ridlins athletics track, running her first 'proper' race on a 'proper' track. Our school won the Hitchin schools championships and had gone through to the North Herts Champs. Carys ran very well in her 40m, she was second out of 8, (unfortunately the camera was on timer and so I got no photos! I never use the timer so I have no idea what was going on). She later ran the relay, I got some shots of that, but I was a long way away and there are too many other kids in it. So you have a portrait of a hot and tired, but very happy little athlete. School came 2nd over all in the competition for large schools. (The schools are classed as a) small - up to 30 in a year group; and b) large two form in take or more. We are classed as large because we have 38 in a year, but the school we were up against have between 60-90 in a year, so the kids did really, really well.)

Two days left at school for me (I had my end of year report today and it was all good news), three for Carys and then six weeks of fun will begin.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.