Catfish

Day #8 in week 2of DDW's props challenge.

Up until a few days ago I thought a catfish was a bottom feeding fish that is popular in the US and even served up in restaurants. I had some when I was in Texas a few years back. Of course, it now has a totally different meaning having been adopted by the yoof to describe a person posing as someone else on social media on the internet; unsurprisingly, someone more attractive and interesting than they are in real life.

This hijacking of an everyday word was all the result of a film by the same name back in 2010 I believe which dealt with this issue. There is now a fly on the wall documentary/expose on MTV by the same name. I know all of this because Rosina is back home, has taken over the TV and is watching all sorts of crap 24*7.

So, back to the image - this is a boring old spoon pretending to be an exciting fork but the truth is in the shadows as always - catfish!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.