Opawa River Lilies

It is strange how unfortunate events seem to occur in threes. Recently our microwave oven died and needed to be replaced. Then yesterday the vacuum cleaner went up in a cloud of smoke… the motor had died. Today I had a very full schedule lined up, I was going to be so busy….. With the dogs in the vehicle I drove out of the front gates in a great hurry. I did not hear Keith yelling something at me. I pulled up with a hiss and a roar over the road from the District Council building, jumped out to find a young man yelling at me as well. He told me I had a flat tire. Too true… one back tire was as flat as a pancake. Then the phone rang and it was Keith... He had been trying to tell me about the flat tire as I drove out. So the puncture was the third bad event! Eventually the nice man from the AA turned up. He pumped up the tire for me and I cautiously drove it to our local tire centre, a stone’s throw from home. All this drama put my plans out by a couple of hours and the dogs missed out on their usual trip to the Taylor River. Instead I walked them from home, skirting the town centre to the Taylor River at Riverside Park. Just downstream from there the Taylor River is joined by the Opawa River and ceases to exist. The Opawa River flows from the river confluence all the way down to the sea. The dogs enjoyed fresh surroundings and ducks to chase in the river water. I enjoyed fresh scenery and the chance to seek out new Blip material. There are wild Arum Lilies growing in clumps along the river banks. Their feet are right in the water it seems, but they looked quite happy as can be seen in today’s blip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.