On the way to Hayeswater (again)

Some of you may remember the other week I recced a new walk to Hayeswater and angle tarn for this week's active walking workshop (but forgot my camera, and ended up shooting on my iphone!) The forecast for today was for good weather with sunny spells through to about 4pm, so it sounded the perfect day to try this walk with the group. We drove to Hartsop, and started up the hill to Hayeswater. By the time we got there it was a touch breezy, and the rain had started, by the time we'd walked a little way up the hill to get the view I'd published previously on blip, the rain was heavy, horizontal, and winds were - at a conservative estimate - not far off 60mph. I took this shot free of the protection of the dry stone wall we sheltered behind, then could hardly lift one foot to walk, for fear of being blown over. Indeed, two guests were blown over, such was the force of the wind.

I had no choice, but to abandon the walk and return to safety - all of us wet, pretty cold, and ready for a hot cuppa.

The shot of the day had to be this one by one of my guests, which really captured the weather!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.