The Lozarithm Lens

By Lozarithm

River Avon At Chippenham

On a recent walk in Chippenham I had walked over a river footbridge from the south and recognised a scene from a completely different part of Chippenham only reached by road from the other end of the town. I had never realised that these two very different areas joined up via this bridge, Baydons Lane Bridge. To further add to the confusion I also realised that when I had come across this bridge before from the north side I had thought I was at a different bridge altogether.

I realised that to clear up the matter I needed to drive to the estate on the north side of the river to find both bridges and confirm my discoveries.

This landscape was taken from the Black Bridge over the River Avon. It was built to replace a long since demolished railway bridge that carried trains from the single track Calne branch line of the GWR into Chippenham and back again.

I had photographed the scene in the nineties before the new bridge had been built. The new bridge had come about because the derelict railway path had become a cycleway and attracted lots of funding in the process.

I explored the path on both sides of the bridge and resolved to return again to see if I could work out how and where the old branch line reached Chippenham railway station. I also walked up to Baydons Lane Bridge along the river and satisfied myself that it was the same blue bridge.

L.
17.7.2014 (1311 hr)

Blip #1324
Consecutive Blip #186
Day #1563

Alternatives:
Buddlea Landscape And Cables
Thistles And Viewing Site
Thistle Landscape

Lenses: Pentax 17-70 mm, Pentax 55-300 mm x1.4 rear converter

Chippenham series
Landscape series
Cattle series
River series
River Avon (Bristol) series

Black Bridge (website)

Lozarhythm Of The Day:
Elvis Presley - That's All Right (recorded 5 July 1954, Sun Records, Memphis TN)
Only one possible choice for this day, because 60 years ago this day Elvis, Scotty Moore and Bill Black made history when, at approximately 2000 hr, they began their first recording session at Sun Records for Sam Phillips, and played this (then) obscure Arthur Crudup tune.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.