The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A load of old beeswax

We had 'bee afternoon' at school today which included a pictorial treasure-hunt, a film, a bee-identification and observation task, and a close-up viewing of a cross section of a hive with real honey bees in it (behind glass) and the opportunity to try on bee-keepers' clothing, and taste some honey.

I was with the nursery children. They were very interested in this old wax. One of the children insisted that wax could be used to make doorstoppers! What I actually wanted to snap was a macro of the bees behind glass, but there was the usual problem with reflections, and not wanting to get anyone's face in shot. But I also had to rush off to catch the bus (I missed it) and do a massage at home.

The fabulous summer weather continues. I am almost on holiday: just one full day in the nursery tomorrow! I've never done a full 8-hour day at this school before, so that will be a challenge, particularly on the last day of the school year.

Tonight, off to babysit in Cashes Green, across town. Not so handy now that Karen and her daughter no longer live at the bottom of my street!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.