The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

My lovely horse, meeting Bomble

For those of you who don't know the Irish priest sitcom of the 1990s, Father Ted, here's an iMdb summary of the episode called Song for Europe, first aired 1996, and a link to the song on youtube. At that time, Ireland really was very keen to stop winning the Eurovision song contest year on year, because it cost so much to host the event the following year.

"Along with his rival Father Dick Byrne Ted is encouraged to write a song to represent Ireland at the Eurovision Song Contest and comes up with the dreadful 'My Lovely Horse' but when it is derided he plans to substitute his version of an obscure Norwegian song whose writers are dead. Unfortunately the song proves to anything but obscure and very well-known so in desperation he reverts to 'My Lovely Horse'. Up against Dick Byrne's superior offering Ted's song is chosen, solely because the organizers want to lose to avoid staging the next year's costly show. At the song contest it gets 'Nil points' all round. Written by don @ minifie-1"

http://youtu.be/jzYzVMcgWhg

For those of you who are wondering why there's a toy horse in my garden, it's like this: it's the end of term and the nursery horse, that we've had for at least a decade, has a broken neck. It's been abused once too often. I decide to take it home to save it from the knacker's yard. Now I have to work which of my friends with grandchildren might like to take it off my hands, repair and upcycle it. In the meantime, it's in my front room. It can't stay there long, takes up too much space. Couldn't stay in the garden, because Bomble would squirt it! He is only very slightly interested in it, once it's inside.

To celebrate the end of term (though I still have INSET on Monday, so I am actually not on holiday yet) Steve and I went to the pub, because they serve street food on a Friday night. Tandoori chicken, tasted great. In the pub garden, though, two little boys were both attempting to play with a toy fire engine and complaining that the other one wasn't sharing.

When I left nursery this afternoon, the children were just sitting down to watch Fireman Sam, and complaining that so-and-so wasn't letting them sit on the bench!
Plus ca change....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.