The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

and the prize goes to...

...the bull with the biggest b*llocks! Or so CleanSteve said. I didn't even notice. I can be scared of cows and bulls if there isn't a fence between them and me. My youngest brother survived a nasty attack by a cow in 1994, when he was a farm manager. He now works for an organisation that promotes sustainable beef farming. Draw your own conclusions.

We were at the Stroud Country show, an annual event that showcases the town's agricultural activities and country crafts. In case you're wondering, I hadn't been taking far too many drugs. The reason that I've rainbowed this image is to make the beast stand out more. (I haven't got photoshop or Lightroom. Poor me!) After watching the judging of the animals, I wandered around the stalls, looking for second hand books. Bomble will be sad to hear that Five Valleys Cat Rescue (his two-times home) no longer sells handmade catnip mice. Unfortunately, the lady who made them has died. Bomble used to go wild, even trying to open a very heavy wooden top drawer in a chest in order to get hold of them.

In the handicrafts tent, I tracked down some of the women from my local branch of the WI. I have been trying to pluck up the courage to go to a meeting, so it was great to chat to them and find out that I already know some of their members. I also found out about a new craft venue in Stonehouse. Fortunately, it's almost the summer holidays, so I'll be able to go along to some sessions.

Steve and I decided that the cakes, flower arrangements and photography entries could do with some stiff competition, (not enough entries) so we plan to enter next year. There isn't actually a gluten-free baking category, but maybe I could submit some 'fancy biscuits' that just happen to be g-f.

After a drink by the the dog show arena, we headed home. I spent the rest of today doing four loads of washing and sorting out last week's clean stuff that was still lying around. One of the woollen blankets I washed was so big and heavy that I haven't even got anywhere suitable to hang it. I also took the cobweb brush around the ceilings. What is wrong with me?

Oh, and I booked my ticket to Argyll, Scotland. My sister has moved into our mother's house and says she is despondent at the amount of stuff that still remains to be sorted. Our mother is very much alive, but hasn't got much space in her new home. We can't just chuck it. I am not exactly looking forward to this visit, particularly as it is costing me handsomely to get there, but I shall give myself at least one day off for good behaviour once I'm there and head off somewhere exotic or exciting.... hmmm, Arisaig highland games, maybe....

PS I have changed the picture to 'normal' colours. The psychedelic psychosis has passed. But thanks for the star, Shaamie!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.