The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Mystery at Mount Farm

Can anyone shed any light on this inscription? It is located over the front door (see inset) at Mount Farm, at Haresfield, in the Severn Vale region of Gloucestershire. A settlement (probably a Norman manor house) has existed on this moated mount since the Norman conquest.

We went to Haresfield to climb the narrow spiral staircase of St Peter's church tower. From there we enjoyed 360 degree views over the surrounding countryside, and could peer into Herefordshire, Worcestershire, and Wales, as well as the Forest of Dean. Fortunately CleanSteve has already written all about our visit, to save me the trouble! https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2069501134644445452

Back at home, I read my book in the cabin, with Bomble beside me. He is the worse for wear, having been bitten by the rogue red cat that terrorises the strip of gardens on our side of the road. Poor B. I shall be extremely annoyed if we have to take him to the vet for fight-related injuries the second time in as many months. Someone did actually shoot the red cat a year or two back, but their aim wasn't very good.

Eventually I realised that the cabin had turned into a sauna. I hadn't noticed because I was reading about New Mexico. Since I hadn't got any frijoles or tortillas, I cooked beetroot burgers instead. for supper. Then I was very annoyed to realise that:

1. I had three face creams to make and pack up
2. I had an invoice to create and submit
3. I have an INSET training tomorrow, even though the schoolchildren broke up on Friday

At times like this I can see the downside of both employment AND self-employment! After tomorrow, though, I'll be free until 1st August. I won't be teaching aromatherapy every single Monday.

Better, though, not to remind myself of work and try to recreate this afternoon's atmosphere. The scene was as English as Midsomer Murders: vicars, bellringers, swarms of bees, cream teas in the churchyard; blue skies over the Big House. A red-striped marquee in the distance promised further entertainment. This is the England of calendar scenes, quaint cottages, and the enormous houses of the privilegeati. (Yes, I did just make up that word. The incription still bothers me. I
keep thinking Illuminati, but that's an American phenomenon).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.