Lions, and tigers, and bears, oh my!

Some people love roller coasters, the faster the better. Others get a thrill out of ferris wheels, the taller the better. Merry-go-rounds are much more my speed, and today I was treated to a long and fast ride on a merry-go-round when we visited the Merry-Go-Round Museum in Sandusky, Ohio. It was a fabulous museum filled with beautifully hand-carved antique animals that have at one time graced the carousels at fairgrounds, amusement parks, and other places families go to have fun. One of the new facts I learned about merry-go-round is that they were originally built for adults, not children, and some go much faster than the ones you might put your children and grandchildren on today. How fast was my ride today? It didn't break any speed limits, but nine mph seemed plenty fast to me. Tomorrow I will post more pictures from the museum on my SmugMug gallery and share the link in my blip for any of you who, like me, don't mind confessing that your favorite ride is the time-honored merry-go-round.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.