WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

Buttermere

Yesterday’s grey evening did not determine the nature of the day today. I set my alarm for 5am and we began walking as the sun came over the top of the hills at quarter to six.

Walking past Buttermere was a delight as a delicate mist hung over the water. I soon stripped off my trouser legs and found, to my amusement, my eye lids sweating as I walked up Red Pike in my shorts with CJ. You can actually just see the speck of the van just up the hill from Buttermere!

I think the person packing up their bivvy gear at Bleaberry Tarn was a little surprised to see me walking by. I headed over High Stile and High Crag and saw no-one else until descending from Scarth Gap where I met a number of people heading uphill. I saw what I think was a peregrine falcon as well as a grey wagtail along the way plus a rather cute common sandpiper as we returned along the lake.

The light combine with the mixture of clouds was sublime – sometimes clear blue sky, sometimes swirling mist. It was definitely a planet feeling day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.