Korean Memorial at Big Rock Garden

Today was another of those up at 5:30 days. Man I'm getting tired of that early hour. Phew! But I got up because what I'm doing is more important than how I feel. This is a lesson I am trying to share with mixed success. But anyhow. I was up. I did my bit. And I took a nap after I got home.

Later in the day the three of us took a walk and that is when I took this photograph of the Korean War Memorial in Big Rock Garden. George Drake, founder of the garden, had this memorial built because he was a soldier in the Korean War, and he participated in a massive endeavor by the soldiers to save children who were orphaned. So little is known of this short war of the early 1950s. George took part in the rescue of many children and he wanted to be sure that here was some record of the event. People have come here from Korea a number of times to visit this memorial. The park is now a city park but it began as a private garden, owned by the Drakes, and taken care of by their son David who has Downs Syndrome, and other young folks with similar conditions. David loved the garden and still does. George and his wife Maryanne sold the garden to the city of Bellingham about twenty years ago. Look large here. And here is a painting I did of this monument on Mother's Day this year.

Tonight we are having a quiet evening. We need one. Happy Monday to you all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.