Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

It varies...

I'm actually not sure why this is called a Variable Dancer, except perhaps because there is so much variation in the colors in males, females, and juveniles. Or maybe someone just like the name. In any event, these tiny damsels (Argia fumipennis) are a common sight in my garden from spring through to fall. I more often see the females, which are a rather drab brown, so when I spotted this more vibrant violet male, I had to take his picture. He politely posed on a gazania bud, which made for a nice shot. So, there you have it - today's blip.

I'm feeling very draggy today and have been having a big more pain than yesterday, so I finally broke down and took something stronger than advil after lunch. Feeling better now, but also feeling fuzzy. But, no pain - that's good.

Errands and a few hours of work this morning, then some time in the yard. Lots of hummers zooming around so I had to take a few pics, of course. I posted two hummers and a clearwing moth (Snowberry) starting HERE on FLickr..

I'm loving my butterfly garden this summer - it's ablaze with bee balm, lobelia, coneflowers, phlox, sunflowers and a few other odds and ends - and it is abuzz with clearwing moths (both hummingbird and snowberry) and bees. The butterfly numbers have been lower than usual this year, so I'm not seeing as many in the garden, but the other flying creatures kind of make up for it. I will definitely make a butterfly garden in FL once we finally buy a house there - I'll have at least a year to read up on the best native nectar flowers to plant and lots of time to plan it all out. That will be fun!

Happy Hump Day, everyone...

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.