Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Oh! I Just Never Thought...

No, I just never thought that my 8.5ft monster would have lilac coloured flowers. The prettiest I had ever seen these was when they were dressed up as hedgehogs*.

The Mother was asleep today, in the day room waiting for the entertainment. I had been pleased when staff told me they had taken her there, I thought it was a sign that she was joining in. No, she had been wheeled there and she was sleeping.

I sat beside here the entertainment started with loud music. She slept.
We sang "Lily Marlene". She slept.
We sang "My old man". She slept.

As the entertainment came to an end I nudged her even more. No amount of tambourine jiggling beside her ear had wakened her. Finally she woke and it was time for me to go! Ah, well!

* Hedgehogs! Thirty years ago, when I was just getting into the craft scene we had a lady who exhibited at our church Art & Craft events. She was called Rosemary and she had an entire table full of teazles dressed up as hedgehogs!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.