Learning day by day

By EmmaF

Mara

Mara are plentiful at ZSL Whipsnade. They are free roaming and will spray unsuspecting children who chase them with urine as they we backwards! I like this thought, as my kids know not to chase the free roaming animals.

These babies were really wee, the smallest I have seen, but they were not the highlight of the day, that was the Red Panda and it's cub. We normally struggle to see the Red Panda as it is normally high up in the tree, but today it was briefly out on the ground with it's cub. When it realised it had been spotted, it swiftly pick up the cub, which is about 6 weeks old and made for the manmade shelter half way up the tree, so no photo opportunity.

The rest of the day was spent doing the usual, while trying to keep cool and having my ear chewed off by a boy who seems to think if he asks the same question three times my answer will change!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.