Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Reflecting

Actually there are 2 roses on adjacent tables in the Italian restaurant in Shirley where I ate this evening. I have been the one doing the reflecting because today I travelled to Southampton, where I lived for 3 years at the end of the 70s.

The journey was tedious. I was in the quiet but refrigerated coach on the East Coast line to Kings Cross. Another coach was described as a sauna by the guard, so we were lucky. Then I caught an earlier train than expected to Southampton from Waterloo, but a lightening strike caused disruption to points at Woking so we were 78mins late. The train was packed beyond common sense so it was almost impossible for anyone to move around. There are no luggage sections on this train which goes all th way to Weymouth. Oh joy. (Nearly forgot, I was in a freezing compartment again, so they gave us free water....)

Actually people entered into the typical English way of reacting and we had a fairly jolly time.

I have been walking around the Shirley district this evening. I was a GP trainee for 6 months here. The lovely residential streets now show signs that many houses have mutiple occupancy. One consequence is that dustbins have reproduced and "litter" the streets. (Sorry but it is a depressing sight.)

I'm glad I don't live here any more. Already I can't wait to return to the north, but I'm determined to enjoy my time here. (Wish the dog next door would stop howling.....)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.