Matts Photo Journal

By photomatt

Carpenter Bee

I had a very productive 1st day of a very much needed week off. Three trips to the garden center to get 75 bags of mulch and crab grass killer. I then edged all of the garden beds in the front yard, pulled the big weeds, and sprayed the crab grass killer. Then did the fun job of laying down the mulch. I got about 85% of the yard done before running out of mulch.

So I took a little nap, got up and then went to find something to blip. While on my search, I heard a lot of "buzzing" and discovered we had a rather large ground nest of yellow jackets next to the house. So off to the store again to get something to destroy them. Then at dusk, I filled the entrance (branches were covering the nest) of the nest with bee spray and waited until this morning (Sunday) to check the results. I cautiously removed some branches that were on top of the nest and found the nest to be 8" in diameter. There were still a couple of yellow jackets that were moving about so I got the spray out again and doused the entire hive.
I'm thankful that we (including the dogs) didn't walk across that yellow jacket nest and get multiple stings (that has happened to me twice in my life - not fun!).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.