The Life Of Ponty Cyclops

By pontycyclops

Common Darter - Newport Wetlands

A day off!

I was originally going down to Newport Wetlands early this morning, but last nights reunions put paid to that as I didn't leave the Barn until late.

So after a slow start I hauled my sorry carcass down there by 10am. It was bloody hot! The coastal path had a nice breeze blowing on it, and it felt good to be out in the great outdoors for the first time in ages. There were plenty of warblers to see in the reeds, Cetti, Reed and Sedge Warblers all putting on a bit of show. The breeze curtailed any photographs, but it was nice to get good views of these secretive birds.

We are now getting to the peak of butterfly and dragonfly activity. There we plenty of Gatekeepers fluttering around. There were plenty of Emperor Dragonflies around, but the Common Darters are always to star of the show as they perch quite nicely for you like this one.

After lunch I decided I would go for a walk down butterfly alley behind the visitor centre. It turned out to be a bad idea. It was blisteringly hot by now. The pathway acted as sun trap, but much worse than that it was swarming with horseflies. I could not stop to take a photo without getting bitten. I walked for ten minutes and waved my white flag and headed back at double quick pace. Another mistake ... by the time I got back to the car I was a bath of sweat!

I started to leave and I thought I was feeling a bit odd. I stopped in the huge Tesco near the Wetlands and bought two bottles of isotonic drinks, which I finished in the car before I dared drive on. I clearly had dehydrated myself!

It passed off and I got home safely, and I did end up with a decent set of photos from the day, which I have added to the flickr album.

Quite chuffed with this photo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.