WharfedaleBex

By WharfedaleBex

The Langdales

Well, I managed a pretty good sleep and woke up moments before my alarm was due to go off. I always class that as a good sign. I looked out to see red feathers in the blue sky. Another promising sign!

We set off at 5.45am and headed up from the New Dungeon Ghyll towards Pavey Ark. I realised on the way up that it would be about 35 years since I first went up Jack's Rake with my mum, dad and sister. That wasn't on today's agenda though.

Passing a group of bivviers fast asleep under the brightening sky, I continued up to the path to Stickle Tarn. There I met some lively overnight campers who were chatting in chairs outside their tents. They looked set for the weekend and it did cross my mind after we'd exchanged a few pleasantries whether they had been to sleep at all!

The third campers were just around the corner with their tent flap open taking in the view. I headed rightwards towards High Raise but turned left on the plateau.

That was then it for people until I was heading away from Harrison Stickle where I met someone coming up. I walked along the back of Rossett Pike and dropped down to Angle tarn, heading up Bowfell to finish me off.

I met a nice chap on top who had set off early from Bury and was on his way across Crinkle Crags. But that was it for me. With creaking knees, I headed down The Band where the temperature and humidity began to rise as the crowds began their ascent. I was pleased not to be going up in the heat and to have had The Langdales nearly to myself.

The weather for tomorrow looks dubious so I've headed to Clapham with the hope of doing Plan A from the other day. This is going to be determined by two things... The weather and whether I can wake up early again!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.