Another Day Another Car Boot Sale

And what a difference a day makes!
I managed to get myself up and out by 6.30am and to the car boot sale in Milton Keynes.
It was hideous!
People were so rude: picking something up, thrusting it at me and barking "how much?"
When I said 50p (for a lovely Next skirt in perfect condition) or £1 for a new Monsoon top with a label) they'd toss it down without a word and walk off.
What did they think I was going to say? It's free, please take it?!!!
Nobody wanted to pay more than 50p for anything.
Or they weren't even looking at my stuff.
Or they were smoking all over me.
Or they were barking "what size?"
I don't know, I'll look at the label. Just like you could!!
Beautiful sparkly shoes:
Her: How much?
Me: £2
Her: 50p
Me: Er no. £2
Her: £1.50
Me: Let's call it £3.
Oh my God!!!
It's not the haggling that bothered me it was the rudeness and general horribleness. So different to yesterday.
I was tempted to pack up and leave at about 10am but I held out until Noon and more than earnt my £45.
A quick rush home to swap the stuff in the car for the Little Misses and we headed back to Milton Keynes for Mr H's party at a gymnastics place.
It was nice to see Mrs Z and Mr K again and Mrs C and the boys were there too so it was a lovely couple of hours chatting, bouncing on bouncy floors and hauling children out of foam pits!
We came home, tricked the Little Misses into going to bed at 6.30pm, cooked a scrummy stir fry, tidied the living room and are now both slumping down to enjoy our evening. Which I suspect will be a short one.
I can guarantee that tomorrow's Blip will not feature my car. Or it's boot. Or any items for sale in front of it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.