My Angle

By myangle

Dad at 77

My Father-in-Law is 77 today. As some of you may already know, he is one of my favourite people in the whole world. We took him out for Chinese tonight which is not too unusual for a Sunday evening. He loves his Chinese food. I took a number of images while we were at the restaurant, but Jo insisted I take a few of him and his dog Jassie when we got home. This was a lucky one to capture.

Dad absolutely loves his dog and she adores him in return. Jassie is a Border Collie cross but I suspect someone was pulling the wool over Dads eyes when He bought her. She looks to me like a Kelpie which for those of you that haven't heard of the breed, is an Australian sheep dog. Don't ask me any more. Anyway the breed is very faithful. Jassie is no exception. She is not too good with strangers and gives the impression of being very frightened of people. If you were to act agressively towards Dad though, she would have you. She is a good, intelligent dog. She also played a part in saving Dads life back in March, but that's another story.

1/125th sec, f8, 100ISO, bounce flash, Canon 350D

So ends a good, productive weekend. All I have to do is watch the Formula 1 now at 10.30pm. I might go to bed and watch it tomorrow night when I get home. We'll see. I am watching Blade Runner at the moment. It is my favourite movie of all time and the soundtrack is brilliant. I must have watched it at least 20 times.

Today was a day with quite a few blip opportunities. I got up and got straight into some cooking for Dad. What I do is make up huge batches of whatever that can be frozen down and re-heated. Today I made spaghetti bolognaise. I saw a show on the TV the other night that used pork mince instead of beef. I didn't write the recipe down but sort of followed it with what I remembered. It came out a bit bland so I added a pile of pesto and some chili. That helped. My Mum said I should use a combination of pork and beef mince. Anyway, the bottom line is that it was a very inexpensive meal to make. I managed to get 14 meals out of it for under $2 each. Bargain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.