Journey Through Time

By Sue

Salmon Creek

I braved the hot weather and drove to the Salmon Creek trailhead to see if I could find something pretty. The last time I saw this area, the rains had brought on the usual flooding and this whole basin was full of water. Now, in late July...it's down to just a lazy creek meandering through the countryside. Well, actually, there is more of this that you can't see. It sprawls out to become a sludgy wetland area but there are channels, like this, that cut through the marsh land. There is a lovely "trail", and by trail I mean a wide paved sidewalk, that follows this little valley, but I only went as far as this view, as it was getting uncomfortably hot. Of course, that's my own darn fault as I'm not much of a morning person and if I'd just get up early and go to these places then...the light would be better, Mt. Hood might show up better (yes, Mt. Hood is that distant fuzzy blob), and it would be cooler. Mad dogs and sleepy heads go out in the mid day sun.

Since I braved the heat, the busy Salmon Creek business area, the freeway and I even had to (gasp!) walk up a hill....this is the blip for the day. Only if Martians landed in my back yard would I change this blip.

Tomorrow - Back to the Beach! YAY!!

See ya

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.