....beside the seaside

Oh! I do like to be beside the seaside
I do like to be beside the sea!
I do like to stroll along the Prom, Prom, Prom!
Where the brass bands play:
"Tiddely-om-pom-pom!"
So just let me be beside the seaside
I'll be beside myself with glee
And there's lots of girls beside,
I should like to be beside
Beside the seaside!
Beside the sea!


It was a very different beach today and crowded with many enjoying Edinburgh’s beach in the warm sunshine. The sea looked so inviting at high tide with dozens of people swimming and hundreds playing on the sand. There was no brass band as mentioned in this old music hall song but instead there was the sound of the piano being played in the tent. It was reminiscent of times gone by when the song would have been popular as people took their annual holiday beside the British seaside. There was even a man on an old fashioned velocipede selling what I regard as ‘real icecream’ from a local company and would have given him our custom but we had already bought ours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.