Mikey88

By Mikey88

Little Egret

I managed to get out of bed early this morning and get myself down to the local nature reserve. Normally, I put my gear in the boot, but this morning, I just had a feeling that I might need it in the car.

On arrival, there was a heron sitting on the island in the middle of the river. It straightened up as I pulled onto the quay and I parked where I could train the camera on it. As I didn't get out, it settled down again and then I glanced to my left and about ten yards away, an egret was fishing. Had I had to get out of the car to get my camera from the boot, both birds would have disappeared as soon as the door opened.

As it was, I got a lot of shots of the egret, and a cormorant joined the heron on the island and gave me some good shots of both birds.

Eventually, the egret flew away and I got out of the car to go on the rest of my walk and sure enough, off went the heron and cormorant. As an added bonus, there were three kingfishers flying around as I walked along the river, but not close enough for me to get a decent shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.