ztuzzer

By ztuzzer

What do you want to do before you die?

It's something I think about a lot, even more so since being released in to the big bad world from the confines of education. At the moment, I am just enjoying my freedom and the rare summer sun, but it's constantly abated by thoughts of the future. I think that a lot of people, fresh out of uni, feel the same pressure to suddenly define themselves - as if what we do now is indefinite. But it's really not. Careers, or at least the singular - a career - is so, well, 80s. Today, it's really not uncommon to chase multiple goals and follow various career paths, but the pressure from the older generation is still somewhat the same. I feel that money is still important to a lot of people, and it always will be, but it's not as common to be paramount anymore. A lot of conversations I have with people of my age often say that they'd rather be happy in their workplace, and are willing to sacrifice a bit of their paycheque for that. I feel I constantly need to remind myself of that as I make my way in the world, especially being torn between passions of travel and design - though not to say they need to, necessarily, be apart.

Today was a nice reminder that careers aren't everything. I walked along the Regent Canal from Camden to Ladbroke Grove with my aunty and uncle - snapping this picture enroute. I have always admired their sense of adventure and an unwillingness to conform to convention. They may not have chased careers but they certainly chased interests. There extensive travel stories and collective knowledge could keep me entertained for hours and is truly inspirational. Career aside, all I want to achieve before I die is to have as an extensive collection of experiences in my storytelling book as these guys do, even if it does mean there's a bit less weight in my wallet as a result.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.