Leanne's Random Photos

By Leannespics

Pretty birdy!

After this morning's hectic schedule, and yes, it all went as planned, we were off to the landfill with the Cub Scouts.

Of all the pictures I anticipated of taking today, THIS was the furthest from my mind! Got to see trash. Lots O Trash. Stinky trash. It was wonderful that they take you on a tour in a shuttle bus and you aren't allow to get out. Most of the time the smell stayed outside! We learned many interesting facts that we never knew we didn't know.

Like on windy days, they put up portable fences in the direction that the wind is blowing and they collect all the plastic bags that fly around.

That they don't have a rodent problem. An Eagle Scout project built owl houses around there so that the owl take care of them!

And they have an Aviary Abatement program! The seagulls come and pick up trash and take it all over the place, particularly to the water supply. So, they have a trainer bring in 3 raptors (see the guy up there) to take care of them! It only takes them 3 weeks to train the birds. Mostly hawks. One was a red tailed hawk, but he was a baby and didn't have his red feathers yet. She told me what kind this was and I forgot. :(

I'd like to say this guy just happen to be sitting right in front of me and posed for this picture, but the real truth is he was on a leash and he couldn't get away from me!

Boy, I sure got my bird fix today!!!

And I just talked to my dad for a half hour....yes, mom, he's making his round of phone calls! I was third in line after Nic and Pam.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.