THE PEACOCK

at the cityfarm 't Akkertje.
In the morning Piet Hein and I mounted the bookcase, made it solid against the wall. For now only 3 shelves in it. A puzzle to put which books where. work in progress.
After lunch I started my cycle tour. First I had thought to cycle along the shore towards Hook of Holland, but with the wind today it seemed not the best idea.
Looking at the map I decided to cycle through Madestein and The Uithof towards Rijswijk, where a very nice cityfarm is.
I followed the system of knots, they are at the map and along the paths.
But if one is a bit lazy and does not want to look all the time at the map one easily goes the wrong direction, for a while at least.
When I discovered that I was heading towards Delft, I knew my mistake and tried to find the right track again.
I came upon a stork that walks the street. The stork is in the coat of arms of The Hague, but it was a first for me to see a real one between houses.
But why not, in our own block there stands a heron nearly all the time waiting till she gets the cheese or fish, or sausage. (Not from me!!)
Eventually I arrived at the cityfarm, it was full of visitors (holiday?) and I found the peacocks, to my big surprise I saw that the tall feathers were lost on both of them.
I did not bother to find someone to ask about it, I stayed there for a short time, knowing that it would take some time for my return.

My haiku:

Not inclined to pose
For me or someone else I guess
The haughty peacock

And the proverb or rather the quotation by Samuel Johnson in The Rambler.

Hope is necessary in every condition.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.