Looking Up in Fairhaven

I am a day late to post this blip. That hasn't happened in a very long time. But yesterday was just one of those loooooooong days. At the end I had a load of photos in the camera and zero energy to process them.

It began with our earliest morning yet. I got up at 5 am and was actually shocked to see that the sun was not up yet. Our days are getting shorter fast. That is obvious. Just a few weeks ago the sun was coming up quite a bit before five. Sigh. I love the long days. Our morning was full as it is when we get up early. Yes, I am being a bit cagey. Let's just say that these mornings are making a difference and that things are moving forward toward a much brighter future. Bravo!

Somehow I did not get a nap but did lie down under the ceiling fan. Both of our kitties, Duma and Mehitabel, visited me on the couch and were sure to get as much "mama" love as they could.

We went to Fairhaven in the afternoon and had a lovely walk. We found a really nice purse for Helena to wear to the family wedding next weekend. My nephew, Spencer and his lovely Anjelica are getting married next Saturday. We are all looking forward to the occasion.

In the late afternoon while Arvin and Helena napped, I sat quietly on the deck with my camera and a cold drink. By this time half the deck was in shade so I had a lovely rest with my camera focused on the jays eating their peanuts. Choosing a blip for today was almost impossible so I decided to post the best jay photos on Chaikins of Bellingham and blip my favorite photo from the walk in Fairhaven.

My brother Steve came over for a game of Carcassonne - I won - and we all had dinner together and watched Manhattan that we had taped earlier. It is odd seeing shows about Los Alamos and the making of the bomb. I was there. Very tiny, but there. And I've heard a great deal about it. My son Jason thought the lead couple might be based on my dad and mom. Not even close. In fact my sense of it is that the show is pure fiction and not based on anything that really happened at all. Oppenheimer is there. But everybody else is fictitious. And even the atmosphere feels wrong. Too modern. The language is 21 century and the events portrayed are dramatic in the wrong way. It focuses on perceived espionage, not the real drama of raising a family on "the hill" while the men (mostly) are working on something they can't talk about. I'll watch another episode but as a historical drama, it just doesn't cut it. I'll be watching it as a drama that is all fiction, set in a time and place that was real.

Phew! Too many words. But you get the picture. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.