No Pain. No Gain

Left Sundance this morning and the place was bathed in glourious sunshine. Spent ages packing and checking that I had not left anything only to receive a message 5 hours later that I have left a top...blast! That's the first time I have ever left anything in a hotel place. Today's trip south to Torrey (near to Capitol Reef National Park- think lots of red rocks and cliffs) took quite a while as the roads were covered in long distance cyclists doing a race around Utah.

I managed to persuade MrH to drive to Mystic Hot Springs in Monroe and was delighted to see that the place was empty. I suspect this is because it is when the place is at it's most hot! The springs include 8 or so old metal bath tubs filled with natural greenish/ yellowish sulphury water from the hills and then a deep soaking bath and a shallow soaking pool. I have blipped them before a couple of years ago. MrH did not partake in the joys of submergence in extremely hot (in some cases- see photo) hot spring water but this time at least I was prepared with a towel. The ground was too hot to walk on barefoot so I had to keep parking my sandals outside each tub. I'd like to tell you that as a result of taking to the mystic waters I've lost one and a half stone and am now at my ideal weight and have the skin and looks of a godess but the springs don't seem to impact on that issue. I did however have a lovely beetroot hue to my face for about 40 minutes afterwards. There were more posey and relaxed photos of the place but this one is very natural and of the moment. I think it really sums up the experience for me and what's the point of adventures if you don't throw yourself at them with all you have got?

I have not explored Torrey yet but I can tell you that I had my first pineapple milkshake today in this town and considering I am not massively into pineapples it was a wonderful experience. The motel seems to be clean and quiet and the view out of the window is red cliffs, green pasture land and cattle grazing so I can't complain.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.