Anniversary

I studied the causes and the course of WW1 at school and university. My grandfather was an 'Old Contemptible', a regular soldier in the Royal Scots in India in July 1914, shipped over to the front in the first days of the war. He fought on the Western Front 1918 and survived into his 70s. My dad says he never talked about his experiences and we do not know why he was awarded the MM in 1916.

I have mixed views about the current outpouring of sentiment over the 100th anniversary, especially in the light of current conflicts, but it is important we do not forget.

My grandmother's brother died. He was 18, in the 16th Battalion, Royal Scots when he was killed in Belgium in April 1918, 7 months before the end. He has no known grave. We have this plaque and a few photographs of a good looking young man in uniform, who never lived long enough to be the ages my sons are now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.