Cesuoshe

By Cesuoshe

Why Can't They All Speak Korean?

Back when I was here in Korea the first time, my attitude towards Korean study could be charitably described as 'feeble'. While I did learn hangeul, the written language used across the Peninsula, I could only make the sounds of the words in my head and not understand what any of the words meant. As for my spoken Korean? The average holidaymaker could do a better job after a week, my own attempts laughable. It's stunning to think that I took classes regularly, but that I learned almost nothing in months of half-hearted study. In truth, my isolated location in Gimpo-Si out in the sticks meant that what little human contact I had outside of the workplace through the week was seized upon as an opportunity to unburden myself of my problems to another flesh-and-blood human, so my tutor became more of a therapist than a teacher. As a result I don't mind at all that she still charged me for the lessons.

When I decided in 2013 that I was going to come back, I decided that I would make much more of an effort this time around. I do believe that if you're going to live in a country that speaks a different language to you then you should make an effort to learn that language. Not only does it make your life easier it's just damn polite. I wouldn't expect people to become fluent in 6 months (because I sure as hell am not), but unless you're working Korean-style 16-hour days then coming home to deal with a spouse and kids then I don't think it's a big ask to be able to hold down a basic conversation, read a menu and direct a taxi without gesticulating and/or grunting after a year. I don't hold much truck with the sentiment that some foreigners here have that they don't bother because they 'don't know how long they'll be here', especially as I used to have that very same attitude. As I've gotten older I've learned that no experience is wasted and no skill ever totally useless in the broader picture of a person's life.

Picture the scene, featuring Theoretical Bob. Theoretical Bob stayed in Korea for just one year before deciding that EFL teaching wasn't for him and that he would rather work in IT back in Scotland. His Korean wasn't at business level, but Bob at least learned how to have a chat with the drunk guy in the local bar. A couple of years later Bob sees his dream job at an IT firm. He gets a job there and works away. Later, there's a company pissup, where even the head of the company is going to be there. She's Korean. Everybody wants her attention, but it's a company of several hundred employees and she sees them all as a faceless blob. Except here's Theoretical Bob, and he's speaking to her in her mother tongue, not about promotion or the new project, but just simple courtesies and an offer of a quick drink. The next day the head is asked about who should be recommended for promotions. Thinking back to the previous night (Just a good chat, Bob's married) she remembers that one guy in her company who made a good impression and recommends him. Theoretical Bob earns mad cash.

Obviously that's a very contrived scenario, but neither is it completely implausible. By not attempting to learn the language you are also potentially limiting your future opportunities through laziness. I don't always win that daily battle between idling and application, and am under no illusions that there are foreigners here who got it and ran with it much further in the same amount of time as I have been here. But I'm trying, and I have learned some things, and I can already count numerous occasions where that knowledge has translated into some fantastic experiences. All anyone can ask of anyone else is that they at least try, whatever country you find yourself in.

This rant was inspired by two people who have recently rekindled my determination to get some sort of fluency under my belt by December. My photo for the day is a dog-eared copy of one of my Korean Language textbooks which I finished last week. Hopefully I can find something other than objects in my house to take a photo of tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.