Texture Tuesday

First of all let me tell you what happened last night..............

Around 11.30pm I went out of the front door to go and push the wheelie bin into the street ready for the Council to empty it. Tino took the opportunity to dash outside. He does this now and again in daylight and he usually just stands still crying. I grab him, let him look about for a bit then take him back indoors. However last night it was dark - really dark - due to the streetlight being broken. ( I have e mailed the council about it twice but they have done nowt ). Anyway in the darkness I couldn't see Tino - but I could hear him. He was howling and yowling as he moved around from garden to garden with me following. No point following really as I couldn't see him. I did catch sight of him a couple of times as I triggered the security lights on a couple of the neighbour's houses. Luckily no-one seemed to notice and think I was a prowler.

After a while Tiino was silent so I was in the dark - literally as to where he was. Went through to the back garden and called for him there as he could have gone down the side garden next door and ended up round the back. For about an hour or so I went from front to back calling him. Tried to call softly as it was after midnight and all the houses were in darkness.

I put the hall light on and left the front door open in case he came back that way. Next thing I hear was the doorbell ringing. It was my next door neighbour. Her daughter had just come home from work - saw all my lights on and the front door open and thought I had been burgled. Told then Tino was out and about - my neighbour just said "Don't worry - he's a cat - he will come back ". Good advice but at the time it was no comfort.

I dozed on the sofa for a bit, Back outside calling. More dozing. One time when I went out into the back garden I caught sight of Tino on my neighbours very high fence. He was obviously enjoying his freedom and showed no inclination to come to me. Then he was off again - into the allotments.

Did a few bits and pieces, went on the computer,. dozed - kept checking front and back.

Finally at 5.30am when I went into the back garden there he was. Luckily he didn't run off - he ran indoors. Obviously hungry and tired and ready for home comforts.

I eventually got to bed around 6am. Knackered.

Had 3 hours sleep as I had to get up early to go to the chiropodist. The appointment went well. She sorted out my corn and put some padding on my foot temporarily. Then she used an electric whizzing file to sort out my toenails. The nail beds of both my big toenails were damaged many years ago and the nails haven't been right since. She managed to file them down to an acceptable level but its obviously an ongoing problem which will not get better. She advised me to get the toenails removed. Ouch ! She talked me through the procedure and I am mulling it over. I guess I might as well go for that option - sort out the problem once and for all. She was going to make a template for a shoe insole to stop the corn coming back but she had spent so long on the toenails that she was overdue for her next patient. So I need to go back in September for that - and let her know if I want the toenail op.

Then I went to the bank and walked home. Went straight to bed for a few hours.

Got up at 3.30pm and caught the bus to Gateshead at 3.45pm. I had to go to Matalan to pick up an online order. Its a bit of a hike to the store from the main area of Gateshead but it all added to my step count. Of course when I was in Matalan I had to have a look around didn't I. And I bought another 4 things.

Walked back to Gateshead and popped into Tesco for fruit. Bus home - got in at 6.30pm.

Tino must have been camped out in the hall as when I opened the front door I saw him heading towards me making a bid for freedom again. Managed to stop him and he was most displeased. He has been asleep most of the evening but now he is howling at the front door - wanting to be off on another night time adventure. You had better think again Tino.

The Forum Tuesday challenge is Texture Tuesday so here is the bark on my holly tree.

Sorry this has ended up like War and peace but I wanted a record of the day.

Step count for today ( timed at 9.30pm ) is 11,044.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.