A Wet Morning

The rain came down with a vengeance from early this morning. I thought it would last all day but the sun came out later and we enjoyed a fine afternoon. However not daunted by a little damp weather, I walked the dogs as usual. I have a very old “Storm-Style” long raincoat in faded orange which is ideal for dog-walking in nasty weather. “Muckboots” almost to my knees and a large umbrella completed my outfit. It is hardly glamorous although these days I am well and truly over glamorous. I even go shopping thus attired.
There were lovely big puddles all along the tracks we visited this morning. I photographed some because vast amounts of pollen are beginning to fall over the district. Some of the pollen will originate from wattle trees which grow in profusion in some areas such as the Wairau River bed and banks. Other pollens are starting to be released by pine trees. There are vast areas of commercial pine forest in Marlborough…… growing on hill country where grapes do not flourish. As the pollen fall increases we will be finding that our cars, particularly dark coloured ones, are covered in a fine coat of yellow dust – pollen. In this image one can easily see creamy-yellow pollen edging the puddles.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.