I See the Sea

I had such a fantastic start to the day!
I had a good night's sleep - not freezing cold and not waking up in agonising pain!
The Little Misses didn't wake up until 8am and were happy to potter about and entertain themselves for a bit.
They did come in for a cuddle with us which was cosy in my double sleeping bag!
Mr K got up and started tea and breakfast while they played outside and I snuggled back down in my sleeping bag, read my book and enjoyed my tea and bacon sandwiches as they arrived. Bliss!
Just how camping should be!
When I eventually hauled myself out of bed it had started raining and the Little Misses and Mr K were all engrossed on the iPad playing something.
This campsite has 4G connectivity so my technogeek family are delighted!
And I was delighted after about half an hour of playing when Miss E insisted on going for a walk in the forest despite the rain.
So we put on all our waterproofs and set off. The sun came out immediately and it was beautiful!
Our far end of the campsite backs onto the heath which has covered the original airfield runways and from there we followed the horses tracks into the forest.
The Little Misses loved it.
"Nature is my favourite thing" said Miss E.
"This is the best day of my life" squealed Miss L.
It was proper ancient woodland with dappled sunlight and sparkly raindrops everywhere. Just beautiful.
And no horses in sight which suits me because I prefer them behind a fence rather than creeping up on me in the woods!!
We came to a bridge over a stream and played pooh sticks and paddled. Miss E was giddy to be in her wellies and able to wade into the mud and the water.
A little bit upstream from the bridge was a rope swing hanging 0ver the stream from a big tree. Miss E swung on it for about half an hour while Miss L climbed the trees and sat and watched.
They were so happy which makes me happy!
After we'd had enough fresh air and fun in the woods I decided it was time to head to the seaside for some fish and chips!
Our campsite is only a few miles from the coast so we headed for the nearest beach and ate fish and chips (roast chicken and tomatoes for me because uncharacteristically I didn't feel like fish and chips!) in the car overlooking the sea and the Isle of Wight. Then we got out to brave the sea breeze!
We had hours of fun jumping off the sea wall onto the beach, clambering over rocks and being sprayed by the breaking massive waves, jumping from boulder to boulder, eating ice creams, drinking tea and playing in the playground.
And then jumping on the rocks a bit more and getting even more sprayed and blown around!!
On the way back to the campsite we called into Sainsburys and - because I can't set foot in a supermarket without bumping into someone I know - bumped into Mrs L, Mr B and the Cousins!!
They have a beach hut at Hengistbury Head for the next week and we were due to meet them there tomorrow for a family beach day. Obviously the lure of the sausages was stronger!!
I'm always struck not so much by the coincidence of being in the same place at the same time as people you know but by the fact that you actually meet. How often are you seconds apart from seeing people you know in odd places but never meet up?
Then it was back to the campsite for beans on toast and bed for the Little Misses.
Followed by chicken jalfrezi and rice for the grown ups and episode one of Breaking Bad under the stars on Netflix.
A great end to a fantastic day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.