Catching the sunshine

It was supposed to be a wet day. I planned to do various things like taking back a skirt to M & S and indoor stuff. But when I set off, the sun was shining so I put my camera in the car.

I stopped off at Pipe Hill Heathland before the sun went behind the rain clouds. Before I had gone very far, I noticed a couple of blue butterflies - and then some more.

I was actually able to do quite a butterfly count - two large whites, three meadow browns, a gatekeeper, four speckled woods - and my blues.

This is another angle of the female Common Blue - the one I blipped a week or so ago, but showing the brown underside of the wings. She was posing this morning.

The four males were also being very helpful - lovely flashes of pale and milky blue against the grasses.

and better still, an hour later and the rains still haven't arrived.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.