Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Invaders

This might have been last night's blip - if I'd been brave enough to take the camera into the loft that is.

I discovered wasps in the loft on Tuesday when I went up to find a selection of toys for the children from Austria. Yesterday I investigated properly and found the nest, tucked away very low under the eaves. After some research I bought a foam spray which could be applied from 3 metres away. I waited until very late, when the wasps were asleep. I dressed in long sleeves, trousers tucked into socks, hat, etc and nervously climbed into the loft. (Very quietly too so as not to disturb anyone who might have tried to stop me.)

I covered the nest in foam, crawling as near as I dared and banging my head in the process. Then I retreated. It was too late to blip anything else.

This morning I went to check the result. As you see, the foam has not even dampened the nest and had certainly not penetrated it. You can just see a soldier wasp on the outside in large. I did take my camera this time and then - I phoned the pest control man.

He came immediately and injected the nest with chemicals. What a shame to destroy the wasps but they were starting to get into boxes of stuff (who else has lots of "stuff" up there?) and would undoubtedly be a problem in the autumn. The nest is a work of art.

Other news - I have signed the printed programme off with the printer and it will be ready Tues/Weds next week. Hooray.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.