Oh My Days!

By lovelupins17

The second tallest Viaduct in England - when built

Not really sure what the highest was??? This is Hewenden Viaduct - and not far from me at all and as I was passing I thought I'd take a blip break and park up. Hardly a sole around bar a few fishermen in the neighbouring reservoir and a dog walker.
This was part of the Great Northern Railway Line linking Bradford and Halifax to Keighley via Queensbury - known as the Alpine Route due to the track's severe gradients, tunnels and viaducts. Closed to passengers in 1955 it's now Grade II listed and forms part of the Great Northern Trail footpath - well I didn't know all that before today!!!
I kind of wish all these old train lines were still running, would love to see a train go over this! :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.