Aperture on Life

By SheenaghMclaren

Shearing

It had to be done. I'm not an expert, indeed I find it difficult enough to turn a sheep on my own, let alone hold and shear it.

James had a day off so he held the ewes, I got down to the removal of very thick fleeces and the Bristol Student held the camera. All four lambs, at the sight of a couple of teats in the air, took advantage of the immobilised ewe to feast on her milk as we worked. The little ewe lamb is crafty and still finds occasion to suckle so Helga still has lots to give.

:) I'm about to back blip the result of the haircuts.... not a pretty sight but, I decided to shear by hand rather than go begging to borrow electric clippers for two ewes. The fleeces came off easily with the sharp shears so my fears of stooping for hours were unfounded. That's it for this year... now what to do with the fleeces?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.