Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Looking For Woody

I was met at the mailbox this evening by an elderly neighbor. She engaged me in conversation thusly:

She: "Woodpeckers love that cactus," as she looked towards the tall saguaro near the mailboxes.

Me: I know! Look at all of the holes they have made in it!

She: Those woodpeckers even come and drink from my hummingbird feeder!

Me: I have seen them do that sometimes. It's funny watching them rock it back and forth trying to get the sugar water to spill out of a fresh feeder.

She: Those birds are sneaky. You have to watch them all of the time.

She kept looking up near the top of the tall cactus in hopes of catching a glimpse of one of those "sneaky" woodpeckers. I didn't want her to know I was taking her picture so I kept the camera at my waist, pointed it in her direction and snapped.

She finally grabbed her mail out of the box, wished me a good evening and walked across the street to her home. I should have introduced myself since there are only a few people who live on our street year-round. Next time.

Now I know why Zippy is always coming from that direction to my house. He's been double-dipping a few houses down! But at least I feel less guilty about leaving him without juice for five days when I was in the hospital.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.